Best Yoga Training School in India

ashtanga vinyasa yoga

Ashtanga Vinyasa yoga

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is a style of yoga as exercise popularised by K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century, often promoted as a modern-day form of classical Indian yoga. He claimed to have learnt the system from his teacher, Tirumalai Krishnamacharya. The style is energetic, synchronising breath with movements. The individual poses (asanas) are linked by flowing movements (vinyasas).


Jois established his Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute in 1948. The current style of teaching is called Mysore style after the city in India where the practice was originally taught.



Usually an Ashtanga Vinyasa practice of asanas begin with five repetitions of Surya Namaskara A and five repetitions of Surya Namaskara B, followed by a standing sequence. Following this the practitioner progresses through one of six series, followed by a standard closing sequence.


The six series are:


The Primary series: Yoga Chikitsa, Yoga for Health or Yoga Therapy

The Intermediate series: Nadi Shodhana, The Nerve Purifier (also called the Second series)

The Advanced series: Sthira Bhaga, Centering of Strength

Advanced A, or Third series

Advanced B, or Fourth series

Advanced C, or Fifth series

Advanced D, or Sixth series